Rock Music News

ICE NINE KILLS Teams Up With REEL BIG FISH For Ska-Punk Cover Of ‘Walking On Sunshine’

todayJuly 9, 2024 2

share close

Just in time for a killer summer, murdersome metal trailblazers ICE NINE KILLS and ska punk legends REEL BIG FISH have joined forces and partnered with Sumerian Comics’ “American Psycho” comic book series to release an incredible cover of KATRINA AND THE WAVES hit “Walking On Sunshine”. Watch the official music video below.Speaking on his band’s reimagining of this classic track, ICE NINE KILLS head psycho and frontman Spencer Charnas says: “It’s no secret to INK fans that ska punk and horror movies are what pumps through my bloodstream. When the opportunity arose to combine one of my favorite films with one of my favorites bands of all time I didn’t just jump at the chance, I skanked over to my nail gun, axe and chainsaw and bludgeoned out my favorite cover we’ve ever done.”Nathan Yocum, president of Sumerian Comics, expressed his excitement about the collaboration, states: “We are thrilled to have ICE NINE KILLS performing a cover of ‘Walking On Sunshine’ for the soundtrack to our ‘American Psycho’ comic book series. Their unique blend of theatricality and intensity perfectly complements the dark and twisted themes of our story. This collaboration brings an exciting new dimension to the project, and we can’t wait for fans to experience this iconic song like never before.”The “American Psycho” comic book series by Sumerian Comics is a bold reimagining of Patrick Bateman’s notorious saga. The five-issue series delves into a dual storyline format; one tracing the chilling exploits of Bateman, and the other introducing a contemporary narrative featuring Charlene Carruthers — a social media-savvy millennial whose descent into violence mirrors the chilling escalation of her predecessor. This innovative take reinterprets the iconic tale with a story written by Michael Calero (“Quested”),vivid artwork by Piotr Kowalski (“The Witcher”, “Bloodborne”, “Sex”) and striking colors by Brad Simpson (“Kong Of Skull Island”, “Stray Dogs”, “Blade Runner Origins”).Today’s release joins previously released tracks from the likes of PUSCIFER, who recorded a brand new, original single, “The Algorithm” for the comic book series, UNLIKE PLUTO who covered EURYTHMICS’ “Sweet Dreams”, PERTURBATOR, who covered “Dangerous” by DEPECHE MODE, and RAMSEY, who covered Leadbelly’s “Where Did You Sleep Last Night”. Between them, the previously released tracks have racked up over 677,000 streams with current sales for the comic book series topping 80,000 units.Fans of the “American Psycho” franchise can look forward to more from the accompanying soundtrack for the comic book series that perfectly complements the visual frenzy and deepens the narrative’s impact, making each issue a multifaceted experience of sight and sound.To celebrate this epic new track and give fans the freshest merch to wear whilst skanking their way through the summer, ICE NINE KILLS have dedicated their monthly Nightmare On The Ninth merch capsule to the release with an offed the wall collection just in time for a summer of slaughter. Items are limited and only available for a short time, so be sure to grab yours now from[embedded content]

Written by: The Dam Rock Station

Rate it

Who we are

Rapid City, South Dakota’s only commercial free unedited internet rock radio station; playing a little older rock and mainly newer rock. A fully licensed stream.

This station is part of the Deep Dive Radio Network.


Our radio is always online!

Listen now completely free!

Give us your feedback!


If you like The Dam Rock Station, please consider making a donation. Your donation goes towards keeping the station commercial free, and helps with operating costs.

More Ways To Listen